What’s On: Super Jam Packed Monday Edish!

 

 

 

 

Lots of premieres on tonight too, if the CW had new 90210 and Gossip Girl tonight would be close to a perfect TV night (Next week!). But still there is sooooooooo much on, here are our recommendations for tonight, Monday January 17th 2011.

The Best:

How I Met Your Mother “Last Words” 8:00 on CBS

I was one of the viewers who was oblivious to the countdown. I watched it a second time and caught most of them, but wow, total whoosh!  But man – when Marsh said “I’m not ready for this” it stung. Tonight brings the gang to Minnesota for Marshall’s dad’s funeral. Bummer. But Marshall also confronts his high school bully. Could be funny.

House “Larger Than Life” 8:00 on FOX

House & Co. treat a good samaritan (Guest Star Matthew Lillard) who saved someone who fell from the subway platform. But in way more interesting news THE CANDICE BERGEN guest stars as Cuddy’s mom. Brilliant casting I say. I love a good Candy Bergen guesting. Here’s the promo…

Lie To Me “Saved” 9:00 on FOX

Lie To Me really works for me. Tim Roth is so joyful in his role that one cant help being joyful watching him bounce around the screen like a coked up leprechaun. FOX has a lot of series on the bubble, and Lie To Me’s ratings are less than stellar. But between this, Fringe and Human Target – Fox is gonna make some cuts. So enjoy Dr. Lightman while you can!

SERIES PREMIERE ALERT!

Being Human 9:00 on Syfy

The second US remake of a British series premiering tonight, the third in the last two weeks (Shameless). I like Sam Witwer (Smallville, Battlestar: Galactica & Star Wars: The Force Unleashed) but I’ve never seen him bring life to the screen like his British counterpart Aiden Turner. The same said for the whoever is replacing Lenora Crichlow who was born to play the part of Annie the ghost. On a brighter note I think Sam Huntington (Fanboys, Not Another Teen Movie) is perfect casting for werewolf George. I’ll check it out, but if Syfy brings nothing new my interest will be short lived.

Skins “Tony” 10:00 on MTV (TMN in Canada)

The first series (and generation) of Skins’ UK version are some of the best TV I’ve ever laid my peepers on. It was bold, well acted, surprising and above all original. I loved it so much that the thought of another set of UK youngsters seemed blasphemous. The US version is pretty much going to be the same as the UK with the biggest difference I know being the character of Maxxie has been changed to a lesbian named Tea. I’m planning on checking out the premiere but I don’t know If I’ll be sticking around, after all – I’ve seen it already.

Harry’s Law “Pilot” 10:00 on NBC

David E. Kelley brings us his 7th law series (If you count LA Law and Picket Fences – WHICH I DO) This one has Kathy Bates as a recently fired – and probably very wacky – patent lawyer who starts her own firm. It co-stars Nate Corrdry (Studio 60) and Brittany Snow (American Dreams). The pilot has her defending a drug dealer. There is going to need to be something special if this is gonna find any traction with today’s viewer. Just look at Undercovers.

But that ain’t all kiddies, there’s a lot more on the tube tonight:

Chuck 8:00 on NBC – People who love this show, LOVE this show. For me it’s a meh, but every so often I get the inkling that I’m missing something special. Tonight Chuck and Sarah take a getaway to wine country.

The Bachelor 8:00 on ABC – ABC’s meat market reality franchise continues to soar in the ratings. Grilled Cheezus…

Pretty Little Liars 8:00 on ABC Family – OMFG’s are usually reserved for Gossip Girl, but… OMFG; The search for A continues in tonight as she tempts Hanna to revert back to her shoplifting. Noel continues to torment Ezra to get at Aria. Emily’s mother goes homophobic crazy. And Spencer adjusts to her sister, Melissa’s marriage to Ian (you know Ian – who cheated on Melissa with Spencer a year ago) Like I said – OMFG.

Rules of Engagement 8:30 on CBS – Adhir Kalyan Alert!

2 & A Half Men 9:00 on CBS – Trainwreck Charlie Sheen Alert!

Greek 9:00 on ABC Family – Rusty plans a murder mystery to help Dale socialize.

The Cape 9:00 on NBC – The previous Cape owner, a psychopathic murderer and escape artist played by Thomas Kretchmann (The Pianist, King Kong) come back to town to kill a bunch of people with a deck of cards and to get back his favorite murder weapon his (duh duh duh) CAPE!

Piers Morgan Tonight 9:00 on CNN – Piers Morgan officially takes over for Larry King tonight. An era is over.

Mike & Molly 9:30 on CBS – Vince tries to befriend Mike which does not sit well with Molly.

Hawaii 5-O 10:00 on CBS – Chin Ho takes on a case that involves him seeing his ex-fiancee from before he became the disgraced black sheep he is.

Whew, that was a lot. I know what I’m looking forward to tonight, what’ll you be watching?

 

 

Leave a Reply

